Thoughtful Love


supercouple

My girl friend Amelia is that unusual combination, logical and sensitive. For a long time I thought she was the only woman for me. Then I saw her walking hand in hand out of the cinema with the young man who came to fix our television. I kept thinking about it all the time. My work was suffering because of it. I kept  meaning to ask her straight out if she was being unfaithful but didn’t want her to feel I was the heavily jealous type.
But today my boss came up to me and said if I didn’t snap out of it I could start looking for another job.  “Sha
pe  up or ship out ” was what he said. Then I saw them at lunch time having a cappuccino, holding hands over the table.
When I told Amelia that I was having all these problems at work and that I knew she was seeing someone else, she threw her arms around me, tears welling up in her eyes. ” Isn’t it wonderful how everything works out for the best? ” she said. ” I have been meaning for so long to tell you I had fallen out of love with you. I didn’t know how to,  didn’t want to hurt your feelings. But now that you know I’m someone else’s girlfriend, you don’t need to give  
me a second thought. “

Leave a Reply

