Poetic Love


STOP ALL THE CLOCKS

Copy of moldau pica bb

Tom’s romantic nature meant that he suffered more than most when a relationship came to an end  but all the same I was shocked and saddened to see him so gaunt and woebegone.

” So. What are you doing with yourself these days? ” I asked him brightly.

He laughed a bitter laugh and spread his arms to emphasize his outcast  state.  ” I wander lonely as a cloud, ” he said.” I look upon myself and curse my fate. “

I put a counselling arm round his shoulder. ” You’ve got to get over Elizabeth sometime, ” I told him. ” I mean she’s married now. You’ve got to let go off  the past, Tom. Live in the present. “

He shook his head. ” Love is not love which alters when it alteration finds, ” he said gruffly, ”  or bends with the remover to remove.  It is – ”
” – But she’s pregnant! ” I interrupted. He smiled, a tired little smile in response to my shallowness.

” Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind,” he said softly, a quiver in his voice.   

” Listen, is there anything I can do to help? ” I asked, beginning to feel quite depressed myself.

He stood silent for a long time, head bowed and  shoulders slumped, then  straightening up and  looking at me with tears in his eyes, shook his head.
 

” Pour away the ocean, ” he said bravely,  ” sweep up the wood,  for nothing now can come to any good.

One response to “Poetic Love

Leave a Reply

