STROMNESS 2011


Main Street, Stromness, May2011

This is the Undermilkwoody sort of town where George Mackay Brown once lived and wrote  not about its dylanthomasy inhabitants but mostly about the Vikings (early incomers!) who came and saw and went away again but left their mark on the islands. You grow fond of this  one-street town with its lively pubs and friendly people. I met a guy in a bar here who asked me if I was from Orkney and when I said I was just passing through he gave me a slow look and said, “Ye soond like wan o thae tropical diseases”

One response to “STROMNESS 2011

Leave a Reply

