I can’t remember the first thing I remember


It had been raining. 

There are known knowns.

It had been raining. That much I remember. And it was getting dark.

These are things that you know that you know.

It was getting dark and it was…..6 o’clock? Half past?

There are known unknowns. That is to say, there are things that we know we don’t know.

It was AutumnSomewhere in the country. Yes, I remember the headlights on brown leaves.

Which country?

Definitely Autumn.

Which bloody country?

Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness.

But there are also unknown unknowns.

I was driving this white van along a country road, doing   70, okay okay, driving  faster than I should have been, okay. Given the underfoot conditions. Yes yes. And the overhead conditions. Granted. Those too. Not to mention the failing light.  Yes yes, the failing light. Especially the failing light.
Anyhow I was late for something, it was raining, I could see in the headlights this bend and I was late and I was tired and it was getting dark and I was thinking of pulling into the next layby for a minute or two  when  I            saw                   something/ somebody step out onto the road
and

These are things we don’t know we don’t know. For example when I was in Africa

Africa? You? You never were in Africa

driving overnight from Nakuru to Malindi

When were you in Africa? During the war was it?

in an Opel Kapitan

What were you doing in Africa in an Opel Kapitan? Giving David Livingstone a lift, were you? Up the Kiliminjaro Highway with your good chum Hemingway was it?

driving overnight – I’d been driving for six hours or so, practically non-stop – stopping once to let a herd of elephants cross the road, slow movers, elephants – and I’d begun to hallucinate a bit – seeing grey shapes, jamming on the brakes, shaking my head and blinking    and there was nothing there, nothing, nothing at all

Tell me something about Nakuru. Go on. Tell me about the flamingoes there, for example.  Where do they come from? What are they doing there? Where are they going to? And the the soda lake there, does it

just the endless empty murrum road and then


Was it this?

?

or was it this?

 ?

or this?

?

There

are

things

we

don’t

know

we

don’t

know.

Leave a Reply

