The Woman In Red


In the Castillo de San Jose
I saw this woman with such black hair
and the red red dress.
I left my brother in mid-sentence,
walked over to her table,
clicked my heels,
bowed a little,
coughed,
and said slowly and clearly
” Your beauty lights up the room.”
She turned to her friend and asked
“Qu’est-ce qu’il dit?”
“Il dit qu’il t’a vu danser, ” she said.
“Il est anglais.”
The woman in red smiled
and inclined her head.
When I returned to my table
“What did she say? ” my brother asked.
“And is she Spanish?”
” She said ‘ That is my husband’s boat’ ” I told him.
“Yes, both of them.”

Leave a Reply

