MODERN DOCTORS


doctors nowadays aint what they used to be

When I was younger, doctors were respected figures in our (admittedly ‘small’) community. They went out of their way to establish a personal relationship with patients. They understood our anxieties , gave us their undivided attention. And being cultural leaders in our community, they had heard me play and, I think, respected my musicianship. Now I find the profession full of smart-assed young whipper-snappers who do not give a hoot.

Today I asked the young doctor who was doing the rounds if I would be able to play the cello quite soon after my operation ( rheumatoid arthritis of the wrist).

Only if you could play it before, she said without even looking up from her clipboard.

Leave a Reply

