PATTERNS and RHYTHMS


PATTERNS: verticals and horizontals:

A photograph of Giacometti a third of the way across the road in Paris, hurrying  to the cafe where Cartier-Bresson is waiting for him, his raincoat tucked over his head because he has neither hat nor umbrella. It looks as though his head has been displaced from his neck to his upper chest.

The two trees and the  line of circular road marks give the picture a 3D effect. The timing of the photograph captures Giacometti in the centre of this playful picture which like another of Cartier-Bresson’s caught-in-the-rain photographs (man jumping over a puddle ) is playful and brilliantly composed and has the feel of a frozen moment of time.

 

 

PATTERNS: Squares and oblongs:

‘Departures’ by Philip Reeves. Why is it called ‘Departures’? I don’t know. Do the blocks signify land and the top unblocked third,  the sea? I don’t know. Why do I like it? Why don’t I get tired looking at it? I don’t know

PATTERNS: Verticals and horizontals; oblongs and circles.

I took this photograph of a car park early one morning and felt that the oblong shapes and the upright lined and the circular forms and the 3 dimensional white block and the 2 dimensional blackish shadow gave the picture an interesting abstract quality. It reminded me of Philip Reeves’ ‘Departures’.

PATTERNS: Tidal; rhythmic; browns, golds, whites,blues.

This is a photograph of a rusty sheet of metal. It looks like a burning wave of the sea breaking on a fuzzy beach. Or I can see a bluish, large-headed, catlike creature  looking at something out of the photograph as it begins to climb a golden tree.  Or….

 

 

PATTERNS: A big square with vivid, busy green, blue, red, white, interlocking patterns inside.

An Eastern rug hung out to dry

in a Scottish garden caught my eye

 

 

PATTERNS: Oblongs; horizontals; 2- dimensional.

I don’t like the rough textures or the muddy colours of the fields but the shapes are quite interesting; I would like to see this as an abstract painting. I would also prefer an overhead viewpoint rather than the take from an angle. But hey, it’s not that bad, it was just a view I thought was okay at the time.

.

5 responses to “PATTERNS and RHYTHMS

  1. I know I’m late to comment on this post, but these are wonderful. I couldn’t believe it when I saw that the 1st photo is of Giacommeti. Yesterday I was reading about his sculpture “Palace at 4 a.m.,” with which I’m mildly obsessed at the moment. So it’s interesting on how many levels patterns and rhythms play out….

  2. Giacometti and his photographer here (Cartier-Bresson) were both remarkable with a playful way of looking at people and places. I don’t know too much about Giacometti but have always admired (without fully understanding ) his elongated figures.
    Good to hear from you

  3. Now, I like these photos simply b/c they are pleasing to look at and b/c they make my photographer’s mind think—about shapes, textures, patterns, use of muted color, vibrant color, balance, repetition, abstract photography.

  4. I was going to comment on the images I liked best…but one by one, I like every one best. Thanks for engaging the eye and mind!

Leave a Reply

